Change 27 – valuing time over money!

clock

Hey there new week!

How was your weekend? I had a wonderful time in the Mornington Peninsula, some quality girlfriend time and caught up on sleep. Now we’re into week 27 which brings with it a new change – Value time more than money!

What does this mean? Well …

Alice-White-Rabbit_l

It’s about taking time out to step back, take stock of what you spend time on and how that relates to what you value…what makes you happy, content, invigorated. Basically what how you spend your time says about what you value. Sometimes I feel I get caught up, like a lot of us,  in the day-to-day, with a long wish list of things I would like to do and things that I know make me really happy or are important to me yet often they don’t quite make it to reality. Do I really value tv time? Facebook?

Now its not about thinking I have to spend all my time all the time on passions, joys etc. with no down time. I value downtime and a bit of quality tv time. But stepping back to see how the balance is. As time really is a precious resource so why not spend as much of it as possible on the things and people we love. In or outside of work.

Also lately I’ve caught myself looking over the fence at other people’s lives and get caught into the comparison trap of wishing I was doing what they were. The whole point of the watering year is to focus on my side of the fence so I think this is a timely change.

In terms of how to make this change:

1. Take an assessment of how you’re spending your time. What do you do most with your time?

2. Ask yourself whether you should readjust things. Make time for the things that you really want be doing — spend time with friends and loved ones, create, read, head outside, play sport, take a bath. You’ll never have enough time to do everything, but you can make time to do some of the things that are really important to you.

3. Consider the direction of your career. Since you spend most of your day working, it’s a fair idea to try and be doing something you like. Is this what you really want to do? Will this particular job lead you to where you want to be? And as scary as it seems are there ways to take your career into your own hands? Or work towards an alternative outside of work hours with hobbies, study and the like.

So I’m going to try these steps this week and observe how I spend my time, what I value and what changes I can make.

What will you be watering?

Here’s a little something for the eyes and ears to get the week started.

M x

ryan-gosling-hey-girl-17

 

[via]

 

 

Leave a Reply

